My Girl

_dsc1283

Eleven years ago today my middle child was born.  Wini’s conception and birth were a bit of a surprise to us.  As a sleepless mother of a 5 month old, I was taken aback when I found out I was pregnant.  Once the shock subsided, we looked forward to our happy accident. Her arrival into this world was full force.  Of course we knew that after 40 weeks in utero, we should expect a child to emerge from my body.  We had done it once before.  We simply didn’t plan for her to arrive so quickly.

I had my first contraction at 1 am on February 27th, 2006.  Forty seven minutes later Wini was born.  Luckily I had a team around me.  Jess caught Wini and swept her mouth for any obstructions.  I lay naked on our bathroom floor with a new born on my chest, while my mother in law paced the floor repeating “Holy shit, holy shit, holy shit”.  She is an experienced nurse and did have the where with all to haul a dirty sweatshirt out of my hamper and cover my daughter.  Then we waited for my midwife to arrive while my oldest child stood crying in her crib.

My awesome midwife Manavi knew something was up when I didn’t answer her last phone call and proceeded to run every red light to get to my house.  She parked on my front lawn and bounded up the stairs yelling “I’m coming” in response to me screaming her name. Everyone was well taken care of and deemed healthy, and we were able to add a plus one to our little clan.

Wini is one of the joys of my life.  She is loving and funny, and smart, and a little firecracker.  And let’s face it, she is the only kid that looks like me.

Happy birthday to my Winstar.  May your days be long and full of happiness, fulfillness, family, friends, adventure, love, and peace.

img_4326

 Although my cake decorating skills leave a lot to be desired, this cake is delicious.  The recipe is from my one of my favorite people who has some serious kitchen skills.  Check it out at Annie Dishes.

The photo of my daughter and me is the fabulous work of Quietlife Photography.

3 thoughts on “My Girl

  1. Wow, what a story! Just by looking at her you can tell that Wini is special, but who would have thought she was in that much of a hurry to join her family. Happy happy birthday Wini, I hope you have a wonderful day and get to eat cake every day this week!

Leave a Reply

