5 Minutes and 24 Seconds of Fame

IMG_8085

It is getting pretty famous around here.  I keep having to check outside to see if the paparazzi has shown up yet.  I had my first ever radio spot on Toronto CBC’s Metro Morning with Matt Galloway today.  I almost threw up over the phone line and vomited in Matt’s left eye I was so nervous.  I would feel awful if I did throw up in Matt’s eye, since I am a huge fan of him and his show.  I stream it every morning, and pretend that all my Toronto friends are just a stone’s throw away.

I have always had stage fright.  I remember doing speeches in grade 4 and just giggling my way through them.  It was terrible.  Most people find it hard to believe I have stage fright because often it is hard to shut me up.  When I had a job (not the thankless, rewarding, non paying job of motherhood, but a real job where you get a pay cheque and praise, and no one whines at you to make them lunch), I was expected to do sales presentations.  I became an expert at avoiding all public speaking.  My awesome boss Dan, ended up bribing me with a significant raise providing I took a Toast Masters course.  I almost declined, until my financial common sense kicked in.

I wrote some awesome speeches at Toast Masters, and then giggled my way through them.  Then I got my raise and avoided sales presentations as much as possible.  When it became unavoidable, I got pregnant and got the heck out of there!

The fame train isn’t coming to a stop anytime soon, as I am booked on Ontario Morning tomorrow at 7:20am.  I hope I can keep my cool and not vomit through the phone lines.

 

 

14 thoughts on “5 Minutes and 24 Seconds of Fame

  1. This is amazing. I’m sure you’ll do fine. You may feel nervous but you appear as cool as a cucumber…besides you have a lovely laugh…it inspires others to laugh or on the radio..smile.
    Love Taya

  2.   Just listened to it…Fabulous Interview!!!! And they’ve posted your blog….WOW, onward and upward.Luv,  Wayne   From: letters from the lunchroom To: wrightonroad@yahoo.com Sent: Monday, August 24, 2015 4:50 PM Subject: [New post] 5 Minutes and 24 Seconds of Fame #yiv5499271846 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv5499271846 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv5499271846 a.yiv5499271846primaryactionlink:link, #yiv5499271846 a.yiv5499271846primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv5499271846 a.yiv5499271846primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv5499271846 a.yiv5499271846primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv5499271846 WordPress.com | alysahawkins posted: “It is getting pretty famous around here.  I keep having to check outside to see if the paparazzi has shown up yet.  I had my first ever radio spot on Toronto CBC’s Metro Morning with Matt Galloway today.  I almost threw up over the phone line and vomite” | |

  3. I heard your interview on Ontario Morning and you were wonderful! I would love to bring my family for a stay at your bed and breakfast soon. We live in Kingston, so we are just down the road. Great story!

  4. I listen to Metro Morning every morning but missed this segment! Heard through the grapevine and downloaded the podcast. All the best to the family from both Tim and I! Hopefully we get a chance to visit soon.

Leave a Reply

