Eighteen Months In

IMG_7940

My new favorite spot these days is to lie on the carpet in front of the fire.  I’ll be cuddling with my dogs, reading a magazine, or simply listening to music.  Now that our renovations are dwindling down, Jess and I are finding we have more time on our hands.  We can now look at out To Do List with lazy eyes.  There are lots of little jobs to do, and less big ones.  We are still working on our third family friendly rental unit, but it is on hold until it is warm enough to paint.  We need to start booking our Bed and Breakfast but are leaving that to February.

I thought I’d give you a little visual update.  I was up early on Saturday to drive to Kingston to pick up my lovely persian carpets from an auction.  And then back again to put together my new Ikea couches.

IMG_7931

IMG_7946

IMG_7947

I finally framed my Christmas present, and can’t wait to hang it up.  I do love my old Toronto ‘hood.

IMG_7953

Awhile back I was the grateful recipient of Great Auntie Irinie’s  matching dish set.  I never got married so never received the mandatory dish set.  I have forever been a fan of mismatched thrift store finds on my table, but there is something so pretty about a matching set.  These dishes have been tucked away in box for safety until now.  I am a little nervous about using them as we seem to break most breakables due to our concrete floors and our slippery souls.  This set is the perfect combination of united, thrift store beauty and memories of great meals with a great woman.

IMG_7955

We have made some progress on our en suite bathroom.  It is white, and clean and filled with sun.  We just need to have our plumber return to install our freshly painted, new to us, Kijiji tub.

IMG_7918

IMG_7961

Unfortunately for me I am still bathing in the handicapped stall in the Girl’s bathroom.  It is not pretty, and sometimes brown drippings from the peeling, vent above land on me when I am showering .  I have gotten use to the general grossness of my shower but am still not keen on the unexpected cold gifts from above.  Luckily it is easy to wash them away.

IMG_7959

In case you are wondering, I have scrubbed that floor/wall countless times and it does not want to look clean.

Jess and the girls choose to bath in our still unfinished washroom in the Boy’s bathroom.  It is unheated, and a construction zone but a step up from dripping brown ooze.  This bathroom is on our big jobs To Do List.  It should look shiny and new by the spring.

IMG_7960

Here is a little shot of my daughter’s artwork which I simply love.

IMG_7956

As you can see, we have made some progress.  Maybe you need to come sit by my fire with me, my dogs, some magazines, and music, and see it for yourself.

6 thoughts on “Eighteen Months In

  1. Alissa – it looks lovely. And your daughter’s artwork rocks. My only thought in looking at the pictures is: Wow, cozy, warm and what a great space for art, art and more art.

Leave a Reply

