January

IMG_7892

It’s unbelievable to me that we are half way through January.  We’ve been fairly cosy over here in this frigid weather.  Our fire is always blazing and we have made a significant dent in our four cords of wood.  We are a little concerned it won’t last the winter but I have no desire to worry about that now.  I’m finally nesting.  I have ordered new furniture, am laying down my lovely rugs, and primping any spot I feel needs it.  And there are many needy spots.  I’m unpacking long lost boxes, painting old furniture, and purging our vast collection of clothes and toys long forgotten in the our many new corners.  And I am cleaning.  There seems to be be an unending array of cleaning tasks.  I think I need to lower my standards.  It would help me free up some time.

Our renovations continue but the end is in sight.  We have come to that point in our project where we are comfortable and most of the work is done.  Today we put up the railing of our kid loft in the gym.  It is above our pantry and only accessible by ladder.  It is our version of an indoor tree house.  It is the perfect spot to spy on adults, launch paper airplanes, have sleepovers, and it will be the best seat in the house for future concerts.

IMG_7913

I went for my first cross country ski last week which was lovely but damn cold.  I plan to go again this week.  Jess has been spending his time building robots and building a huge skating rink out back.  As soon as my girls get home from school they are on the rink, and then again after dinner.  They are really making up for all those years when I was too lazy to take them to skating lessons.

IMG_7859

 We are enjoying this winter much more than last.  Before we know it, it will be spring.  But before that we have birthdays to celebrate,  maple syrup to tap, good food to eat, and many friends to enjoy.

And I’ve been working on an exciting new project that I hope to share with you soon.  Until next time my friend.

4 thoughts on “January

  1. It’s so nice to hear that the winter is better than last year for you guys in your new (not so new) place. And…an indoor treehouse?! Can’t get any better than that. Enjoy the winter, and the cozy, nesting, luxurious down time that we get from it!

  2. Alysa, I’m so glad you are happy and so very fully occupied. I guess it is more fun to enjoy the cold playtime/ski time outdoors when your home is now warm and cozy! It looks lovely! Laura

  3. It all looks and sounds lovely. I’m so happy for all of you and envious. Such a wonderful lifestyle. Wish I was there. Hope to be soon, maybe W E of Jan 31 or Feb 7 if there is space. Love to all. XOXO

Leave a Reply

