Scrambling

IMG_6633

I’ve been scrambling to get everything done these past few days.  There is still some clean up left from the concert, both rooms are filled in our rentals, and there is canning to do.  Plus, I was up most of the night tending to my little one with a fever of 104.1 F.  My poor little Ruby.  Usually Jess and I are fairly laissez faire when it comes to sick kids.  We make them comfortable with lots of hugs and movies to watch, and keep an eye on their symptoms.  Ever since Ruby’s tick bite, we are a little more concerned.  It’s so hard to know if her fevers are related to reoccurring Lyme disease or just a simple fever.  This is the second time since her antibiotics that she has had a high fever.  We’ve been hard pressed to keep it below 102 F.  As a parent, I tend to get worried at 103 F.  I’ll take any advice if you have any.

So while my little Roo has been sleeping, I’ve been in the kitchen.  We have a goal of making all our own jam for the year.  It is a worthy goal.  All five of us have a sweet tooth and we eat a lot of jam around here.  I made a small batch of blueberry jam yesterday, another batch today plus a few small jars of raspberry jam.  It seems I’ve missed raspberry season with all the hoopla around concert preparations.  It’s obvious to me now that raspberries won’t reschedule their growing season to accommodate my party planning.  It is official that raspberries are the most egocentric of all the fruits currently available.  You have to give a little to get a little.  Did you ever hear that one, wee raspberry?  Perhaps by next year, if that little fruit with the little heart, reflects on his behaviour in 2014, we may try to make some more raspberry jam next year.  I’m not one to hold a grudge.  That was a totally untrue statement, but I am working on eliminating my grudge like nature.  Maybe I too, am part raspberry.

While I was working on jamming, Jess brought in a bucket of cucumbers.  I called in the troops and Wini, Reya and I started on the pickles.  I have a bread and butter batch and am trying a new curried pickle recipe.  We will see how it goes.  There’ll be countless more buckets of pickles to come shortly.  They will have to wait until I squeeze in a quick visit to Toronto.  The corn is almost ready to pick as well.  We will have hundreds of cobs to eat and process.

Our first thought was to have a party.  If we have an excessive amount of corn, isn’t it logical to invite all we know for a corn roast.  The idea is percolating.  More details to follow.

I must get back to my pickles.

And my little Ruby.

IMG_6637

 

4 thoughts on “Scrambling

Leave a Reply

