Today

IMG_6147

The lilacs are in full bloom in the County, and the air is tinged with their scent.  I am receiving multiple bouquets from my kids on a daily basis.  The lilacs are so abundant that their pickings go unnoticed by nature, and humans alike.

I am sitting in the sun with my dog by my side, chickens in view, a new issue of Bon Appetit in hand, and listening to the nearby waterfall.  I just finished a lovely lunch of caesar salad with avocado, tomato, and a piece of multi grain toast from Humblebread that I picked up at the Wellington farmer’s market on Saturday.  I have finally perfected my caesar dressing.  I am embarrassed to say that it took me 42 years to even attempt to make caesar dressing.  Granted I really wasn’t that into it as a kid so maybe it only took me 30 years to get my dressing act together.   Either way, it rocks now and I am consuming large amounts of caesar salad at most meals.  Perhaps the smell of lilacs will distract you from my garlic breath, but probably not.

I have dinner plans tomorrow night with a good friend and all our kids, family is coming for the weekend, as is a dear friend for some much needed girl time.  We are going to be tourists for the weekend with a trip to the beach, the Milford farmer’s market, a visit to Stewart Jones’ gallery, and dinner at Norm Hardie’s Saturday night.  I’m in search of a babysitter Sunday night so Jess and I can go to our neighbour’s for an Argentinian BBQ.

I’ll soon be off to prep dinner of halloumi, tofu and veggie kebabs, asparagus, and rhubarb crumble.  The kids and I picked the asparagus and rhubarb yesterday at our neighbour’s house.   I am told it is the best asparagus I will ever eat.  I’m happy to test that theory.

After dinner, I’ll head to the kids school for a parent council meeting and if time permits, Reya and I will take our daily evening walk around the Mill pond.

Plus I found some very casual employment for the month of June.

So far, it’s a good day.

6 thoughts on “Today

  1. Sounds like a perfect day! Wondering if you use an egg yolk in your Caesar dressing? I use to but lately I’ve been leaving it out. Anything with garlic and Parmesan is good in my books.

  2. Oh excellent…a truly idyllic day!!

    Looking forward to sharing some of it with you june 7! Hoping the lilacs still in bloom??

  3. Alysa – Please keep sharing your experiences in the county. I love hearing from you. We will be calling/emailing/visiting soon.

Leave a Reply

