The New Year

IMG_4749

Happy new year!  I was thinking about what I would write for my first 2014 post.  My original thought was to tell you about the best wild life sighting that happened right after Christmas.  I was sweeping the front porch as part of my pre NYE party tidy up, and luckily looked up from my drudgery.  I saw a deer with a good head of antlers in the corner of my property.  He was trying to cross the road and was unable to jump our fence  on that side.  He kept running back and forth as if he was trying to get up the courage to test his luck with the fence.  I sped back in the house to tell the girls and we all watched from the window to see how he fared.  He soon found the shorter fence on my neighbours side and gracefully bounded over and disappeared into the woods across the street.  Hands down it was the best wild life sighting of 2013.

Since then it has been less idyllic.  Over the weekend, our pipe burst.  We had family visiting.  As the rest of us were happily watching a movie, my sister-in-law L.P. heard water and thankfully went to investigate.  Water was pouring out of a hole in the wall in the boys bathroom.  As I mopped that up, L.P. thankfully continued the hunt.  Our basement (which is just a tiny room) had 1/2 a foot of water in it with more falling from every ceiling pipe I could see.  When Jess came back from walking the dog, he was unfazed.  Within minutes, he had cut and capped the pipe and we all went back to our movie.

Yesterday, I went in the storage room to find more mess.  The ceiling had been leaking from condensation.  One of the 3′ x 2′ ceiling panels was so soaked with water it collasped in pieces on the floor.  Water was dripping down the wall into a giant pool of water.  Thank goodness the school board left the industrial sized mop.  It was well used.

Today is the second day the school buses have been cancelled, and we are fully house bound.  There have been a wind, wind chill, and snow squall warning for the past two days.  Winds are gusting up to 90 km/h.  The photo above was taken from my window in a particularly clear moment.  Most of the day it has been hard to see 2 feet past the window.  We’ve locked all the outside doors as they keep banging open when they are unlocked due to the strong wind.

The weather is suppose to calm down slightly tomorrow.  I am ready for school to resume, although I can’t complain too much about our lazy days.  My girls have been playing outside but only in 10 minute stints.  It’s a good time to have a gym.

Our boiler is chugging along but not at 100%.  It is broken but still working.  Jess has designed additional parts and replacement parts for our machine.  The steel used in our boiler is substandard.  It continually breaks down due to the high heat.  A local metal worker is making these parts from quality steel, and they should be ready tomorrow.

We are already thinking about the spring and what seeds we need to order.  I’m looking forward to a full growing season, and am continually making list as to dishes I can make with our fresh produce.

It’s already January.  Only a few months to go.

One thought on “The New Year

  1. Good luck in 2014!!!!! Thoughts of Spring are good in January!!! I used to think of what I would plant – but now at this stage of life – I’m thinking about who to hire to pull the weeds and when can I play the first round of golf!!!!

    Take care of each other!!!!

    thank goodness L.P. heard the rushing water!!!!

    xoxoxox

Leave a Reply

