All Work

IMG_3387

I spoke with a good friend of mine the other day.  She mentioned that our new life out here sounded like we were on permanent vacation.  We love it.  We are more relaxed and spending more time together as a family.  That doesn’t negate the fact that there is a hell of a lot of work to be done and it all seems to take such a long time.

Just the cleaning alone could be a full time job.  I spent a sweaty hour yesterday cleaning and that was just the damn stage.  The day before that I was scrubbing the walls with bleach with a coarse brush.  I am going to take a moment here to reveal the truth.  That was my first time ever that I had scrubbed a wall with bleach with a coarse brush.  I know all you ultra clean people out there are mildly disgusted with me.  Perhaps you feel that I should now be scrubbed clean with bleach with a coarse brush.  But here is another truth.  Some people spend their whole entire lives without ever scrubbing a wall with bleach with a coarse brush.  Who’s disgusting now?  At least I’ve done it once!  But if I am to continue with that whole truth thing, it may be my last time scrubbing a wall with bleach with a coarse brush.  So there, I’m back to being disgusting.  Although all you slobs out there probably think I’m all that.  Or you think I’m an idiot for spending any time at all scrubbing a wall with bleach with a coarse brush.  I am going to say it loud three more times and then stop:

SCRUBBING A WALL WITH BLEACH WITH A COARSE BRUSH

SCRUBBING A WALL WITH BLEACH WITH A COARSE BRUSH

SCRUBBING A WALL WITH BLEACH WITH A COARSE BRUSH

All that to say I’ve been cleaning a lot.  And organizing and hauling boxes around and just looking for an assortment of items.  If anyone knows where my sifter is, I’d appreciate it if you could let me know at your convenience.  I’ve also been spending quite a bit of time on my picnic blanket under my favorite tree reading my decorating magazines.  I guess technically that isn’t work.  But I like to file that activity under ‘Planning’.  Perhaps you organize differently.

On another note, my appliances got delivered today.  Please say a warm hello to Chesty my chest freezer (she got teased a lot in high school so be kind), My Love, my new washing machine, and Why Bother, my stove that has a 4 prong plug that can’t fit into my 3 prong outlet no matter how hard I try.

I must go.  My mom and aunt are due to arrive in a few hours and I must get back to cleaning.

7 thoughts on “All Work

  1. Where’s the “staff room”? Surely they had a stove somewhere in that building, with a four-prong plug???? Also, your old hood has been underwater and without power (here in the ‘hood next-door we are still shop-vac-ing) so thoughts of you scrubbing walls with bleach only make me wish I wasn’t doing the same. Lovely tree, BTW.

    • No there is no proper outlet. So back to the BBQ. I heard about all the big excitement in the city. my mom said power has been off since Monday night. Good luck on the clean up. Eat all your ice cream before it melts!

  2. I promise to take mr coarse brush and ms bleach out for a long ride when I visit…and no, they will not be coming back! getting rid of me is going to be your biggest problem!!!

Leave a Reply

